Switch to desktop Register Login

Glory Announces Lineup For 70kg Tournament Starting In May

  • Written by Rian Scalia

During today's Glory World Series event, Bas Ruuten, Cor Hemmers and Ramon Dekkers took some time out to make a trip to center ring for an announcement. They announced the lineup and format for the 70kg tournament, which will begin in May.

There will be 16 fighters fighting to qualify for the "Final 8." This is just like the K-1 format except under the "Glory World Series" banner. Names announced to participate in the tournament were:

Giorgio Petrosyan

Dhzabar Askerov

Yoshihiro Sato

Robin Van Roosmalen

Fabio Pinca

Ky Hollenbeck


Alex Vogul

Denis Schneidmiller

Chaz Mulkey

Maxim Vyrovsky

Mohammed El Mir

It's a bit of an odd lineup, considering that four of these fighters, Fabio Pinca, Alex Vogel, Dennis Schneidmiller and Mohmamed El Mir don't even fight fight at 65-67kg and don't even fight at 70kg. Another thing is that most of these fighters aren't considered to be the elite at 70kg. Giorgio Petrosyan, Robin van Roosmalen and Yoshihiro Sato are the three top fighters in the tournament. There's still four more slots to go, it looks like, so we'll see who else they get. I think I might've seen Sitthichai Sitsongpeenong but I couldn't tell as the audio was very bad and the camera didn't pan to the fighters' pictures. Interestingly enough, they've also gotten two Americans in Ky Hollenbeck and Chaz Mulkey.

The prize money for the tournament will be $300 000 USD. Glory will also be holding an 85kg tournament with $300 000 USD on the line and a heavyweight tournament with $400 000 USD on the line some time this year.

Copyright 2010 - 2017 All Rights Reserved.

Top Desktop version